top of page

Take A Hike! My 31 Year Search is Over!

Columbia Newton Ridge Plus Waterproof Hiking Boots


This is a review for COLUMBIA NEWTON RIDGE PLUS WATERPROOF HIKING BOOTS. The style above is for women, but they are also made for men. I also have a review below this one, for TIMBERLAND PRO TITAN WATERPROOF 6" SAFETY-TOE WORK BOOTS for men and women.

I have purchased these COLUMBIA NEWTON RIDGE PLUS WATERPROOF HIKING BOOTS. I have been looking for my ideal hiking boots since the 1980s. Or just hiking boots that fit me and were comfortable. I have never found any that had all the features that I have been looking for, which includes being waterproof and fitting my feet correctly.

Well, I finally found them, after 31 years.

These boots are very lightweight, they are waterproof, and are extremely comfortable. They did not have to be broken in. They were comfortable from the moment I put them on, and I bought them and walked out of the store wearing them. This is a lifetime first for me.

I had, and still have, pain in my left arch and ankle from wearing defective shoes. I didn't realize they were defective until it was too late, and I began to have the pain in my left foot. No other shoes I wear will take away that pain when I walk, except for these boots. They are wonderful.

I have also had a problem finding the right width in a hiking boot. I am a B (Medium), But all other hiking boots in this width are too wide, and many are made with an extremely wide area where the toes are, resulting in your foot swimming from left to right in the front of the boots.

The width in these boots fit me perfectly.

I also love the color, which is Quarry/Cool Wave.

I have also tested the waterproof factor, and found it excellent.

This particular review is for a woman's hiking boot.

If you are having trouble finding a hiking boot that fits correctly and is comfortable, and really need something waterproof that you can walk the distance in, for a SHTF scenario, then "test drive" these boots. They just might "fit the bill".

Well, I hit the jackpot, because I also found these really heavy-duty waterproof safety-toe work boots.


Timberland PRO TiTAN® Waterproof 6" Safety Toe

I love all the Timberland products, including all their hiking boots, shoes, and clothes. This style just happens to be the one that fits me correctly.

These are real heavy-duty leather boots. They will last a long time and stand up to harsh conditions, especially with the safety-toe.

This is also a lightweight workboot at 1 lb 7 oz.

Outsole is slip, oil, abrasion resistance and has electrical hazard protection.

So I purchased this one for its heavy-duty quality and features and am confident that it will stand up to long term use in the outdoors in any weather condition.

Featured Posts
bottom of page