top of page

Put some light on it! Maglite Flashlights


Maglite Heavy Duty Incandescent 4-Cell D Flashlight, Black

Maglite Heavy Duty Incandescent 4-Cell D Flashlight, Black

I have a number of Maglite Flashlights in all different sizes. The one in the picture above is one of my biggest ones. I think I lost count on how many I have, and I may have one that takes 6 D cells too. I also have 3 of the smallest penlight type ones, and some in-between sizes that take 4 D cell batteries, and so on. I have had these Maglites since 1990. They never break. The only thing that needs to be replaced is the bulb, and obviously, the batteries. And the bulbs may also last for years, depending upon how much you use the flashlights.

I have had many other flashlights during this 30 year time period, and actually some go back more than 30 years. I have had to discard them all, due to either falling apart, breaking, rusting, or their ability to no longer work. And I mean, I had a lot of them, like 30 or 40 of them or maybe more, accumulated over the years, that I tested in 2018 and had to throw out.

These Maglite Flashlights are heavy-duty, metal, sturdy flashlights, that can even be used as a self-defense weapon, if the circumstance arises.

I would suggest owning the black ones. They are more stealth and easier to conceal if needed to be used for self-defense.

The Maglite Flashlights also have a storage area inside of them for an extra bulb.

A real hefty light and lifesaver!


They are waterproof, drop and shock resistant, and you can easily find parts. The size of the beam is also adjustable by rotating the front piece of the flashlight.


Yes, they have batteries that need to be replaced, but the batteries can last in the flashlight for years if you don't use the flashlight that much. From personal experience, I had the batteries in some of my Maglites for almost 10 years (Duracell Batteries mostly, and Eveready), and the flashlights still lit. Also, if you have flashlights that are rechargeable, you have to have a generator to do this, or some other kind of power source. Do you really need a super duper bright rechargeable tactical flashlight that you may not be able to recharge? Isn't it better to get a battery operated flashlight that isn't as super bright, but that you can rely on by just changing batteries from your stockpile?


And now, you can replace the old krypton bulbs with LEDs. It's called an LED CONVERSION KIT FOR MAGLITE FLASHLIGHTS. This conversion will make your flashlight have a much brighter light. It will become a long range beam with excellent floodlight illumination which is great for when you are out in the wild. The old bulb will also give you adequate light for use at your home and in a city environment, so it isn't necessary to convert the Maglite to an LED unless you need it for camping, hunting, backpacking, and so forth, in a wilderness area.


Again, through my personal experience, these flashlights have lasted for decades, and will last for more decades to come.



Featured Posts
bottom of page