top of page

Danger Danger Mr. Will Robinson


Having a supply of candles when there is no electricity is a necessity. However, candles in a glass container can be very dangerous, especially pillar candles in glass. In 1999, while preparing for Y2K, I bought 3 cases of pillar candles which had 12 in each case. They were all in glass containers, just like the one in the pictures above and below.

I tested one candle out, and I think it burned for either about 80 or a hundred hours or more. I really can't recall if this is correct, since it was decades ago, Well, Y2K never happened, so that brought us to the year 2000. We used a pillar candle or two whenever there was a storm and the lights went out. Well, some years later, around 2008, I was burning one in the dining room, on the dining room table and I heard one big pop. A piece of the glass container cracked and broke off from the heat and traveled like a high speed bullet across the room. If it hit my eye, it would have knocked it out. So, I took all the cases of candles and threw them out. I couldn't believe this happened, because the glass container surrounding the candle is very thick. But, it did.

These candles are also sold as prayer candles and are decorated with pictures of saints on the outside part of the glass. I have seen people carry these candles in prayer lines too.

These are very dangerous. I would not recommend using these candles. I also would not recommend using any candles that are in glass containers. The glass might crack and pop off with the heat of the candle and cause you bodily harm. Even if not, the glass could break in other ways, like, you could drop the container with the candle in it and have glass all over the floor and get cut picking it up. I would say to get rid of all your candles that are in glass containers, especially before some type of crisis happens, when you may need them. Also, in regards to glass, I would not recommend acquiring anything made out of glass for a crisis situation. It is just too dangerous, and there may be no doctors available, if you get injured and need one.

Featured Posts
bottom of page